Neurologist Appointment

Image

Well, like was stated in the last post from others in the comments—never let your OBGYN give suggestions about the state of your brain.  They studied OBGYN for a reason, and while my doctor may be brilliant at the business of birthing children, I think I will leave the brain tumor diagnosis to the experts.

My neurologist told me that my exam looked great.  My chances of having a brain tumor are something like 1 in 100 or even 1 in 200, in other words, incredibly rare.   Considering how good my neurology exam went, it’s more probable that I don’t have a brain tumor, and more likely that I have a genetic predisposition towards seizures.  (My parents and brother have both had seizures).

Nothing brightens up your day more than knowing you probably don’t have a brain tumor.  Don’t get me wrong, I still have to have an MRI, and while it’s possible, my neurologist seemed incredibly optimistic that everything was going to be okay.

Pregnancy is an interesting change in one’s body, that’s for sure.  After my incident, I have learned that a lot of people have dormant issues that start to become more apparent with pregnancy.  Some people have a disease that pops up that never had symptoms before, and some people get gray hair.  Pregnancy is just a strange time for women.  It’s hard to predict anything that could happen.

That seizure was the scariest event that has ever happened in my life.  I still find myself wondering what would have happened if my husband hadn’t heard me scream at 3am that night.  Even though I don’t remember screaming, I told him that I probably was screaming out to him because I knew what was about to happen.  I probably knew that if I didn’t scream, he wouldn’t hear me, and who knows where I would have been by then…

Thank you for all the support, fellow writers.  It’s scary to think about what would happen when life is suddenly taken away from you, makes me realize how selfish I have been and how I need to look beyond that selfishness.  I need to be more thankful for the life that I do have.

283740_10150975415751443_888736503_n

 

4 thoughts on “Neurologist Appointment

  1. I am so glad!! YAY!! This also proves that your decision to blog about this was not only good for your mental health, but helpful for others too! Hugs and baby yourself~

Leave a Reply

