Litopia Writer’s Colony

Litopia Writer’s Colony

Has anyone ever heard of this?  I came across it on the twitersphere (yes, I just made up a new cybersphere), and it looks like it would be up all of our allies.

The catch is that you have to pay for it, but according to the wonderful advertising on the site, only about the cost of a cup of coffee every month.  They have branded themselves at “the net’s oldest community for writers”.

For one year, it’s a charge of $30/month.  Hmmm, it sounds too good to be true.  However, I am wondering how their system works.  There is little information about it on their website.

Has anyone out there ever tried or even heard of this “writer’s colony”?  What do they do?  Is it just a forum?

4 thoughts on “Litopia Writer’s Colony

  1. I have never heard of it, so I might be totally off-base here, but I would be very wary of any website trying to take your money. Especially since it’s information you can get from free forums and support groups, such as Nanowrimo (in fact, just from quickly reading the front page, it sounds almost exactly the same as Nanowrimo, except Nanowrimo is free – which means you’ll probably find a lot more members and thus help on Nanowrimo, anyway). Seems like it might be a scam to me, BUT as I said, I could be wrong. I just use caution at any time when someone is asking me to pay them for something like that. I somewhat doubt that there are actual successful authors paying for a service just so that they can give advice to us aspiring authors. x)

    • That’s kind of what I am thinking too…it just sounds way too good to be true, and when I try to find some sort of description of what the services offered, there are none. I think it’s best for authors to develop their own connections through blogging like we do! lol

  2. I was a member a couple of years back and if you contributed regularly they would give you feedback on your writing. At that time it was free but when trying to search now, I can’t even find a link to the site. Weird. I think it started when forums etc were quite new.

Leave a Reply

