Self-Publishing with Amazon’s Kindle Direct Publishing

Are you a victim of “rejection-letter fatigue”?  Do you simply want to publish your work and share it? 

The concept is an interesting one, that’s for sure.  I know that I feel the restraints of rejection letters.  There is always some subjective nature to the letters too.

After living in a world long enough where the critical voices tend to be heard louder than the peaceful ones, it doesn’t come as a surprise as to why there would be so many rejections.

Become an Independent Author

However, we are in a different time.  You could publish your own work as an independent author.  You could be in charge of your own brand, essentially. 

As a librarian, I have seen how our physical collection is dwindling, and our electronic resources are growing.  Publishing industries are worried because they have been used as a third-party system since the invention of the Gutenberg press.  They have been an intermediary for creating physical items.

However, this has all vastly changed.

If you want to write now and publish your work, you can.  If you want to send out sonnets to the world everyday, you can.  You can publish and share the worlds that have been stuck in your head to everyone in the world.

It’s true.

Be Your Own Publishing Company

So, I am actually thinking about publishing my own book, with the first one to be released in probably the next six months.   Ever since I was little, all I wanted to do was write.  I think that I will probably sell my novels for a nominal fee.  You have to if you want to be listed through KDP.

I like KDP because it will give me 70% of my own royalties.  I also like it because I know it will give me the creative freedom I need to develop as an author.  There is scary feeling that occurs when I think of others telling me what they think I should write.

In this world, I have a belief that I should write whatever it is that I want, regardless of anyone reads it.

Marketing Your Own Self-Published Book

After the book has been published, it’s nice to know the novel can be viewed from all sorts of devices (computer, kindles, ect.)  I like this aspect to the self-publishing.  When I try to think about the most interoperable system for ebooks, I think amazon.com is it.  Plus, they really try to make it really easy to publish your own work.

From there, you can send free ebook copies to book review websites, and see what comes up.

However, a part of me is apprehensive?  Here are some links I found:

Amazon’s Kindle Direct Publishing: Do the costs outweight the benefits?

Amazon’s Kindle Direct Publishing Offers Authors A Cure for Rejection-Letter Fatigue

What do you all think of this?  Do you think self-publishing is a good route to go?  Or do you think there are aspects to this equation that I am missing?  I have been glorifying it for the whole post, so there are probably negatives.  What are some you can think of?

8 thoughts on “Self-Publishing with Amazon’s Kindle Direct Publishing

  1. Well, since I’m self-publishing, I’d definitely say it’s a good route 🙂 The big negatives I can think of are, A) the cost — you have to pay for everything yourself, including editing services, cover design, etc., and B) the time and effort — you don’t have a major publishing company to do all the hard work for you, you have to market by yourself, publicize, set up interviews, set up book signings, etc.

    • Eeek, it does sound like a big responsibility, but much better than having someone else do all these things for you. It takes away a lot of the overhead you’d probably experience with a publishing company.

  2. I’m sort of see-sawing on this subject myself. I have yet to get to the point of sending out my manuscript (since it isn’t finished yet!), so for now, I’ve got my eye on traditional publishing. I’m still not sure if I would ever self-publish, but it is possible. I talked about my reservations in one of my blog posts here: http://wishyouwereawriter.blogspot.fi/2012/09/traditional-publishing-vs-self.html

    Basically my problems with it are similar to what Michelle said: it costs money and effort to do it right, but many people just view it as a cheap, fast way to get their work out there, and thus there is a lot of self-published work that is of very, very poor quality. And that means that if you put your self-published work out there, then even if you spent the time and money for professional editing, real cover art, etc., people will be prejudiced against your book simply because it is out in the sea with all of the other low quality stuff. I think it’s very difficult to come up from that and be successful, though it is possible if your work is really good. I think self-publishing is a good option if you have no expectations of making money and I would recommend publishing under a pseudonym, because if your self-published book is a flop now and associated with your real name, it will cause bad publicity for any future works you might produce, whether through self- or traditional publishing. Which brings me to my second issue with self-publishing – sometimes (but not always) a rejection means your work or you are not ready yet, and if you just publish it anyway, you might regret it later when people assume your future work is of the same poor quality. Though a bit BUT here is that even multiple rejections do NOT always mean that you/your work is not ready. I think you have to decide that for yourself, and if you really and truly feel it is ready and good and a good representation of you and your work, then you should look beyond the rejections and consider self-publishing.

    • Also keep in mind that with a publishing company, you pay nothing. They pay you and they are the ones taking the risk in investing in your work. Of course the downside to that is that authors get ridiculously small royalties, but on the other hand you get (in my opinion) a much bigger chance of success…

      • So true! I never thought about self-publishing until I came to a small jewelry store a tiny desert town. There was a guy playing the guitar there. As I walked around the room, I noticed there were books for sale. I could tell they were self-published. The author turned out to be the jewelry store owner. Crazy. It’s nice to touch people, no matter how you do it, and if youi know your work won’t be super successful, it’s good to just publish and share it anyway. ❤

    • I agree with you about the low quality of some self-published books. I think my problem with publishing industries is that I feel like they are stealing the money away from those who deserve it the most: the authors!

      I have been thinking about this: quality and self publishing. I think it would be fun to send in manuscripts to all sorts of publishing houses, and when one finally accepts your work, to say “No, thank you.” At that point, it’s the stamp of approval that you have quality work, and it will sell, so self publish anyway!

      What do you think?

      • That’s an interesting idea. I suppose if you are planning on self-publishing anyway, that would be one way to figure out if your work is ready (though it would also be one way to really annoy publishers). But I have a feeling the publishing companies would get annoyed and not look at your work in the future. After all, they are taking time to read your manuscript.

        On the other hand, though, I do feel that authors get paid too little, considering they are the ones who wrote the books. What is it, 10-15% royalties usually? That is a -very- tiny amount for the person who actually came up with and took the time to write the story. I agree with you that it is unfair. It’s also one reason why I can’t make up my mind about what I think about self-publishing.

        Although what’s interesting is that some authors who have become super successful with self-publishing go on to sign with traditional publishers (for ridiculously pricey contracts, too). Might be that they have more leverage to negotiate themselves better contracts as far as royalties go, but I’d be curious to know why someone who is getting rich off of self-publishing (note: I’m talking about the -very- few that actually do get rich) would still want to be traditionally published.. Maybe it’s just that it’s less work for them, or maybe they actually make more money with the benefit of the publishing company’s advertizing. Not sure..

      • We live in an interesting time where even teenagers like Taylor Swift can manage their own brand. Did you know she is the CEO of her own company? When you think about it, it is possible to manage your own brand like a small business, and you’d probably make more money in the end anyway.

        Depends on the type of person you are. I am really interested in marketing, websites, graphic design, and all sorts of these things. Actually, one of my friends created an image recently that I think would be perfect for my book “Girl-Who-Rises-Sun”

        Check it out:

        https://marlarosebrady.wordpress.com/2012/08/29/girl-who-rises-sun-lives/

        This will def be the cover my book. Cool, huh?

Leave a Reply

