What’s Market Research? Oh, DUOTROPE!

I read somewhere that I shouldn’t rant like a crazy person when doing a blog.  It makes me look less desireable.  But screw it, I am going to do.   That’s right, you heard me:

SCREW IT!

I am, sadly, not someone too fond of the rules.  Rules upset me.  I don’t like the fact that people all think our lives need to be lived in one way, and I definately dislike the way the publishing world works these day.

Alright, enough of me being a sad bah-humbug. I just got WAY TOO MANY REJECTION LETTERS THIS WEEK.  Ahhhh!! Makes me want to tear my hair out!!

And now onto publishing techniques…

DUOTROPE

If you are unfamiliar with the website above, CLICK ON IT.

I did, and it is fantastic.

Have a western flash fiction story that you are trying to publish but don’t know where to send it?  Duotrope offers these in a big filter so that you can find specific literary magazines that are looking for the type of work you are doing. 

If you get really good at using Duotrope and having your stories accepted, you could even become a success story, like this one lady who published 99 short stories in one year.  She says much of her market research was done on Duotrope.

Gosh, speaking of, I really need to go write a short story.  I have a lot of pent up aggression right now.

You too!  Go write a short story, get your rejection juu-juu off of you, come back, and submit it again!

“Our greatest glory is not in never failing, but in rising up every time we fail.”

~ Ralph Waldo Emerson

2 thoughts on “What’s Market Research? Oh, DUOTROPE!

    • LOL— Rejection is the best part, Alex. There is no such thing as getting the first piece you submit accepted. Steven King, and many other writers, collect and rejoice in their rejection letters. It’s proof that you are still trying. If you don’t try, who will listen?

      thanks for commenting!

Leave a Reply

