The Dreaded Rejection Letter

DISCLAIMER: All the names and organizations have been changed.

Dear Marla,

Thank you for sending us “Demons.” We appreciate the opportunity to review and consider it. Unfortunately, at this time we have selected other submissions for our upcoming issue.

Thanks again. Best of luck with your creative work, and please continue to check in with Pomadour Press for future submission possibilities.

Sincerely,

The Editorial Team

Pomadour Press

Dreaded Rejection Letters

Ah, nothing like starting the day with a rejection letter when you are trying to become a writer. However, I did start to feel better about getting rejection letters once I read Let’s Write A Short Story. In this book, Joe Bunting explains that less than something like .0074 percent of people get accepted and published in literary magazines. He also explains that we all have a better chance of getting into an ivy league. (I sure know I don’t have that chance! LOL)

Coping With Rejection

So what is a writer supposed to do after receiving rejection letter after rejection letter? I guess the first thing we could all do is simply ignore them. That’s what I try to do. However, nothing can compare to the fluttery feeling when I look at my email on my blackberry to see that a publication has written me back, only to find out that I “don’t quite fit into their publication.”

Well, shucks, but I guess I “don’t quite fit in” anywhere, but isn’t that one reason I became a writer in the first place? Maybe. Maybe not.

Other methods someone can use to try and cope with rejection letters is to post them on their blogs, like I have done so here. Why not? I don’t use my real name here anyway, and I might as well change the publication’s name so that I don’t have to feel upset about it anymore.

Recently, on the absolute favorite writing blogs, Write To Done, Joe Pawlikoski explainsย one way to rid yourself of distraction is to play guitar. For me, playing guitar helps me truly get out what I am thinking or feeling about something. I can’t really play guitar all that well, but I am amazing at writing lyrics. The other day, here’s a little lyrical poem I came up with:

“If I lived in your mind, I would simply plant this one seed,

I’d try to brainwash to know that hope is all you need,

I’d make you look in the mirror everyday,

And I would try to give you courage to say,

I’m trying the best I can and that makes me okay,

I’m trying the best I can and that makes me okay.”

While my days of smoking cigarettes, drinking chai tea, and blasting chords at the local coffee shop are long over, it’s nice to know I still have other therapeutic ways to deal with rejections from literary magazines. I think I will post all my rejection letters here now and brainstorm other therapeutic ways to cope. ๐Ÿ™‚

More Information on “Let’s Write A Short Story”

What our some of your methods for dealing with rejection letters?

4 thoughts on “The Dreaded Rejection Letter

  1. Aww, well I’ve always been encouraged by the fact that a large number of really popular, successful books were turned down multiple times before they were ever accepted. Not to mention most authors write multiple books that never get published before they ever get one book published. My favorite author in the world wrote her first book at something like age 14, but didn’t get published until she was about 30. So I tell myself that everything I write now is just practice, and if it gets published, that’s just a plus. ๐Ÿ™‚

    But in truth, I’ve yet to finish anything, so I’ve never gotten to the stage of submitting and getting rejected! I think that in itself is an accomplishment – you finished something and then you put yourself out there. That’s a step farther than me so far (though I’m working on it! XD)! My advice is keep trying and keep writing something new!

Leave a Reply

